Categories
Misleading SPAM

SPAM: Socialgrowthco.com & Trent Farnes

So it seems Trent Farnes (@trentfarnes) has changed domain names as we’ve just received another Instagram collaboration offer, this time with Khloé Kardashian @khloekardashian.

FROM: Trent Farnes trent@socialgrowthco.com
SUBJECT: Khloé (185M+ Followers) + <instagram handle>

Hi <instagram handle>,

We have an exciting Instagram promotion launching on October 27th with Khloé (@khloekardashian) that we thought you may be interested in joining based on your interest in growing your brand.

Khloé will be asking her 185M+ followers on Instagram to follow a group of brands in order to qualify. These brands will be participating in a “group buy” that will allow them to gain exposure and qualified, targeted followers from her audience at a fraction of the cost.

On top of new followers gained, we have a bonus where people enter their name and email address – and you’ll get all of the emails submitted to use for your marketing purposes.

If you’re interested in learning more, let me know and we can set up a time to chat. These spots will go fast!

Thanks,

Trent Farnes
Co-Founder | Socialgrowthco(dot)com
Trent Farnes

1075 S 500 W, Bountiful, UT 84010

The domain records a redacted and we see the office address has changed. The website is branded Social Stance. In a cached version, we saw a different website which said SocialGrowth.co is a trade name of FDS Media Ltd which as best we can tell is a lead generation partner. In other words, scrape and collect your data to give to others.

SocialGrowth.co is a site operated by FDS Media Ltd., San Stefano 23A, fl.2, ap.4, 1504 Sofia, Bulgaria

We haven’t seen anything being publicly promoted by celebrities in previously mentioned campaigns, so we suggest this “group buy” and you getting peoples names and addresses is questionable.

Australian Communications and Media Authority
https://www.acma.gov.au/avoid-sending-spam

Categories
Misleading SPAM

SPAM: Just Promotions & choosemylocation.com

We recently received generic SPAM for marketing promotional products from Just Promotions.

FROM: no-reply info@mailjustpromotions.com.au
SUBJECT: Be In Front Of Your Customers
WEBSITE: justpromotions.com.au

The SPAM itself is pretty uninteresting but one thing did seem interesting.

AND ENJOY A “COMPLIMENTARY HOLIDAY” ON US!

Some more good news – for a short time , you’ll also get a COMPLIMENTARY AUSSIE HOLIDAY for two with every $1,000 you spend.

So if you bought $2,000 worth of “promotional products” from us, you’ll get 2 COMPLIMENTARY AUSSIE HOLIDAYS!

Fantastic, right? A complimentary holiday. Sounds too good to be true, right? Let’s look a little closer.

The website linked to about the holiday promotion is choosemylocation.com by a company called The Institute of Wow, who are a Sales Agent for redeemvactions.com

T’s & C’s available at choosemylocation.com

Reading the terms & conditions is pretty interesting. The are a lot of restrictions on how and when you can use your complimentary Aussie holiday, but a few things in particular stick out.

  • You must register and pay a fee before you can login and search for locations and dates.
  • Travel must be completed within 18 months after activation (not booking).
  • You must select a location up front before you can check dates or availability.
  • Booking & Service fees of $33 AUD apply per night. Friday and Saturday nights you will also get charged an additional surcharge.

Suddenly our “Complimentary Aussie Holiday” seems less complimentary and could border on false advertising.

Always read the terms and conditions and if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

Domain Name: MAILJUSTPROMOTIONS.COM.AU
Registry Domain ID: D407400000107441442-AU
Registrar WHOIS Server: whois.auda.org.au
Registrar URL:
Last Modified: 2021-09-04T07:36:04Z
Registrar Name: Web Address Registration Pty Ltd
Registrar Abuse Contact Email:
Registrar Abuse Contact Phone:
Reseller Name:
Status: serverRenewProhibited https://afilias.com.au/get-au/whois-status-codes#serverRenewProhibited
Status Reason: Not Currently Eligible For Renewal
Registrant Contact ID: R-027992539-SN
Registrant Contact Name: Paul Jones
Tech Contact ID: C-010700367-SN
Tech Contact Name: Paul Jones
Name Server: NS1.MAILJUSTPROMOTIONS.COM.AU
Name Server IP: 139.99.170.168
Name Server: NS2.MAILJUSTPROMOTIONS.COM.AU
Name Server IP: 139.99.170.168
DNSSEC: unsigned
Registrant: JONES, PAUL LESLIE
Registrant ID: ABN 75057050703
Eligibility Type: Sole Trader




Australian Communications and Media Authority
https://www.acma.gov.au/avoid-sending-spam

Categories
SPAM

SPAM: more from ihubnetwork Helium IoT

Unsolicited SPAM advertising equipment for the Helium IoT network.

Coming from Brad at BRADPERROW@outlook.com

Helpfully the email does say call Matt for more information on a Sydney phone number. We did call him on the supplied number and he answered so if you get this SPAM, be sure to call him and ask him why.

Sender: Brad BRADPERROW@outlook.com
Subject: Ready to get in some passive income every week mate?
Links: http://www.ihubnetwork.net/

Morning ,

Ready to get in some passive income? Good news, the renowned Helium IoT Network is rolling out across Australia.

Please visitwww.iHubNetwork.netfor details and join today to secure your location,

GETFREE HELIUM HUBSPOT& GET PAID EACH WEEK.

It is a network for the future of smart devices to run off crypto mining, owned by the people who host it.

By hosting a small hotspot device in your home or office, you would be helping to extend the network’s coverage and, of course, getting paid to do so each week.

For any questions, call Matt on 02 4022 9741 or visit www.iHubNetwork.net.

Thanks

BRAD PERROW

Registrant Contact details hidden.

Details from their website:

Terms & Conditions and Privacy pages point to ihub.global which has some very mixed reviews if you search.

02 4022 9741 – seems to also be associated with Graphiker On Demand


Graphiker’s site links to LinkedIn
https://www.linkedin.com/company/31317475/
LinkedIn shows 9 employees with only some names available.

Bibiana Ovalle
Co-Founder at Graphiker On-Demand

Matt Greacen
Graphiker & Cyber Helper

Matthew Greacen
Graphiker & Cyber Helper

Ram Ashley Ling
Graphic Designer at Graphiker On Demand

Jeffvic Ponsica
UI Designer at MRM

Australian Communications and Media Authority
https://www.acma.gov.au/avoid-sending-spam

Categories
SPAM

SPAM: tizifi.com t-shirt spam

Unsolicited SPAM advertising t-shirt website with an unsubscribe link that is not a link. The click through domains are all xyz domains.

We’ve seen these emails a few times always advertising TEE4NAMES or TEES4NAMES always coming from a student, now they have changed to tizifi.com

You can now add this to your list of websites not to buy products from.


Australian Communications and Media Authority
https://www.acma.gov.au/avoid-sending-spam

Categories
SPAM

SPAM: More from ebooksidea.com & TechsterHub.com

We continue to receive unsolicited SPAM marketing from email addresses at ebooksidea.com, advertising other companies products including HPE, Mitel & Oracle. It’s probably an affiliate setup where they get a commission from leads.

The bottom of the email mentions it was sent by TechsterHub.com and the click tracking is track.softbox.co.in

The WHOIS records are all masked. Some have been using Mailchimp but most are using a softbox.co.in url for sending and tracking which is registered in Rajasthan, India.

The privacy policy on ebooksidea.com has techsterhub.com in the header and mentions Marketingbrainbox Pvt. Ltd (“MARKETINGBRAINBOX”)

The privacy policy on techsterhub.com has the following contacts in India:

The contact information for COLEDA B2B's Data Protection Officer is:
Mr. Awtansh Chand
C/o. Coleda Pvt. Ltd.
Office No. 001, A-Wing,
Second Floor, City Vista,
Kharadi, Pune
Maharashtra 411014, India
dpo@coledab2b.com
MAILING ADDRESS
Should you choose to notify us of any of the above preferences by postal service, here is our address:
Coleda B2B.
Last updated:
This website and associated websites (“Website”) are owned and maintained by:
Coleda Pvt. Ltd.
Office No. 001, A-Wing,
Second Floor, City Vista,
Kharadi, Pune
Maharashtra 411014, India

Australian Communications and Media Authority
https://www.acma.gov.au/avoid-sending-spam